RSS

A Page from a Director’s Diary: Nissar Parvez on his journey with StarOne

18 Dec
Hello Everyone,
As usual the first few words are always the most difficult.
Star One…. Pheww! It actually took some time to sink in that it doesn’t exist anymore. Its my usual habit to switch on the TV and get to Star One, just to have a casual look at it. But today morning, the 18th of Dec, when I did that, it just didn’t show up. It wasn’t there. Then I realized the logo has been changed, and its a new name too. Life OK. I was frozen for that moment.
It took a lil time to sink in. It was over. But then I thought good things should always come to an end and I switched off my TV and started writing this article. Really bad at it. Hope it makes some sense. 😉
I think it was 5 years back, when I had got a call for this show called Koi Hai, and I had just taken up an episode of that and it was pretty interesting, one thing led to another. One good episode of Koi Hai got me another, and it went on, and then the channel offered me Dil Mil Gaye
With DMG cast and Crew
I still remember, in my first meeting with Star One, the Channel Head looked at me and said, you are Nissar? You are so young. I think she had doubts in her mind whether a young guy like me will be able to pull off Dil Mil Gaye. On the other hand, I thought, youth show young director nahi karega to kaun karega. I smiled on my own. Next meeting I made sure I had a lil beard. Haha!!
I was confident that I was doing it, and I did it. 

With the DMG Team
Honestly, I had never thought that Dil Mil Gaye will become so popular. It was crazy and it was pure magic. You wont believe this, the core team still messages each other the lyrics of the song. For eg, someone will just sms, hum to chale they dost banke, and then someone will add in, jaaney kahaan dil mil gaye, and it goes on, until we have the entire song. That’s the connection. 

All of us working on Star One were very emotional people, very very passionate, mad people. We were stupid fools. Hahaha!! We used to fight like crazy. All of us had a love and hate relationship, and this happened only because we were equally mad for our shows. We used to literally kick each other, pull each others hair etc, not talking for a few days, and then each one waiting for the other to break the ice, and we start off again, we hit off like there was never an issue. Hahaha!!! It was pure madness.
Rohini, Palki, Amita, Nikita, Nitin, Anand, Gul, Richa, Rishi, Neeraj, and many more. They were the mad caps. I had always heard women can be dangerous. Had experienced it for the first time. lolllll. They will kill me if they read this.
As I was doing DMG, I was offered Miley Jab Hum Tum. The idea of going back to college excited me. I grabbed the opportunity. It was lot of fun doing Mile too. It was a young team again and new madness.
We all just loved taking challenges. We were scared of monotony and as it was getting a lil monotonous, we decided to shoot a song without a cut. We did ishq hua and we actually achieved it. It was the pure madness of our core team, myself, Ravi, Richa, Nikita, Rishi, Neeraj and my Producers Seema and Sudhir for showing faith in us.

What next????? This is something that just keeps popping in my mind every now and then. I think it was November 2009. I got a call from Rohini, and she said she has something interesting. I had no idea at that point that “that something” will turn out to be GEET.
We formed a team. Gul agreed to Produce it and with myself, Richa, Rohini and Rishi on board, we were all set to launch another one. It was an experiment and it was too dramatic to the taste of StarOne. But we kept that thought aside, and we all got in with full conviction and honesty and started the search of our protagonists, and that just wouldn’t end. We kept looking and looking and looking, untill we zeroed on Drashti and Gurmeet. Yes!! Our favourite Maaneet.
There was a lot of rawness in their chemistry that really excited us, and gave us a lot of hope. But to our disappointment, the ratings were not too great initially. But we didn’t panic too much as it was expected since we all knew it was an experiment. Soon it was decided to shift gears, and get a lil of the Star One flavour. Geet was moved to Delhi, she lands up at Maans office, and we decided to do a song kurbaan hua. That was it!!
I never had an email id and so never had a Facebook account. I know its funny. Haha!!
With Gul and Gorky
One fine day , my friend Gorky told me “why don’t you open an email account and a Facebook account?” I gave it a thought, smiled at him and told him, “will u please open one for me.” He happily agreed. I was technically challenged. Haha!!
Till this point, I had no idea about this parallel TV industry that goes online. I was shocked to see the madness and the passion. I suddenly started having doubts on my own creativity. People were so into it. During my making of all my previous shows, I kept hearing of the popularity online, but always preferred to stay away from it. I think I always took work as worship, and so was always very conscious of any external elements diluting my passion. Haha!! Stupid of me.
With the Geet Crew
I was actually stupid coz Facebook gave me something that I will cherish for the rest of my life. 🙂
Now that I scroll up , I actually wrote quite a lot. Well I think it has finally sunk in, and so the words.
a long pause…………..
Its been a beautiful journey that I will cherish for the rest of my life. Whatever lil I am today, is because of Star One, the kind of trust it had shown in me, time and again. Star one has definitely given me the motivation to do many more exciting shows in future and I really hope I am able to live up to the expectations.
Gurmeet, Drashti, Hrishikesh Gandhi and Nissar Parvez
Its a huge challenge for us, as we have a new platform now. But hopefully, with all the love and trust that all of u have in us, we should be able to do it again.
I am sure there is a new Star One somewhere gaining momentum. Will meet you there guys.
Getting late at work. Time to say goodbye.
Love you All!

Nissar


Rangmunch.TV would like to thank Nissar for sharing his StarOne experience with us. Many such stories coming exclusively on Rangmunch.TV, so keep logging back in!
 

64 responses to “A Page from a Director’s Diary: Nissar Parvez on his journey with StarOne

  1. Rida Khan

    December 18, 2011 at 10:26 am

    haye main mar gayee :O Arrey kyun aap mere bday k qareeb meri jaan lena chahtay hain?? Bhai aap bolte hain aur woh bhi ITNAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA bolte hain?? :O Mujhay Heart Attack ho jaye tou Bhai k sar daal dena sara ilzaam :O

     
  2. akshata

    December 18, 2011 at 10:29 am

    we want geet season 2 with the same leads or a new show by the same lead please.

     
  3. Rida Khan

    December 18, 2011 at 10:35 am

    Aww bhai, its awesome, aap ne mujhay kaha tha spoken from heart, aur aap ne khud bhi kitnay pyaar se aur dil se likha hai, waise mujhay pata hai FB ne aap ko mere jaisi behen di issi liye aap itnay khush ho rahay hain 😀

     
  4. Unknown

    December 18, 2011 at 10:48 am

    Congratulation Nissar , the magic you created with Kurba hua and other early episodes of Geet, kept us hooked till the end of geet.
    Thank you for bringing GEET in our life.
    Geet is your best work till date. Waiting to see you soon in GHSP Season 2.
    Its my dream and yes “Sapne bhi Sach hote hai”.

     
  5. Rida Khan

    December 18, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Sorry, baar baar cmnts kr rahi hoon, lekin main apnay Gorky Darling ko Thanx bole bina reh nahi sakti, uss ne zindagi main jo 2 3 achay kaam kiye hain, unn main se aik Bhai ko FB pe le k aana hai, Thank u LOVE ❤

     
  6. Farah Khan

    December 18, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Director par excellence! never was into indian serials and it all started with Geet. Thank You 🙂

     
  7. MAANIQRA

    December 18, 2011 at 11:01 am

    we want geet season 2 with the same leads or a new show by the same lead please.

     
  8. Vela Belle

    December 18, 2011 at 11:15 am

    I still can't believe I became a part of the crazy fan club of geet and actually exchanged mails with you, nissar! But the creativity of the team is what drew me in and I am glad cause it gave me friends I would never ever have met else! Than NP and thanks to the hoohaa gang!

     
  9. Tejal Parab

    December 18, 2011 at 11:25 am

    I have been following StarOne since the very beginning….. Remix started off starOne as a youth channel and was intrgued to it…. I have always been stuck to StarOne…. It is and will be my most favourite channel in the history of Television…. DMG, MJHT and GHSP are my favourite shows….. and as you are related to all the three of their creation, I m obliged to you for this…. all the shows have not only given us good actors but it has also given me many new friends all around the world…. Thanks a lot Nissar sir, for StarOne and all the lovely shows…. hope to see you soon with new set of shows on a new channel….

     
  10. Jane

    December 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    We Dream YOU make it so! Just like Jean Luc Picard we have utter faith in you to take us on new journeys into the Universe of Dreams, more passion, more love, more adventure, I cant wait! Hurry up ;)))

    Thank you Nissar from another Deewani! We love your Vision.

    *pushes Rida aside and shoves herself to the front*

     
  11. Rida Khan

    December 18, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    *bhai comes hugs rida n wipes her tears n both leave Jane The Jealous alone”

     
  12. indepgal

    December 18, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    awwwwww…more than the article loved ur comments, jane and rida….had a BIG laugh today-totally dispelled the gloom of knowing no Geet tmrw..

     
  13. indepgal

    December 18, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    there is another star one, nissar and it is sure gaining momentum….its called “sony”..a channel thats had the conviction of doing shows that arent run off the mill…thankfully, they ve hit the right mix now and are soaring..hope to see u there with a fresh story and concept and ur sufiana touch..wud be even better if it includes Drashti/gurmeet…but pls, no simpering miss whose always doing pooja paat and has a thali in hand ….all the best.

     
  14. FJkhushbu

    December 18, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    love u yr nissar….u've given us lovely shows,DMG n GEET…
    will miss u aloooot.

     
  15. Mano

    December 18, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Nissar, what a lovely and honest post from you 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your experience with Star One in a humorous way 🙂 You are a very talented young guy and no wonder you are so popular among the young masses hahaha. After Maan Singh Kurana, you are the next popular guy associated with Geet;)) Best wishes to you in all your current and future projects! Lots of love to you from this sis, me ! Keep it up ! Your fans will follow you anywhere 🙂
    Thanks RM for posting this fabulous piece from Nissar the Great !

     
  16. Sara

    December 18, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Darlinggggggggggggggggggggggggggg FB gave u me! *falshes a thousand watt smile and blinds poor Nissar*

    awwwwwww what a sweet article! ❤

     
  17. Ananya.....

    December 18, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Superb article Nissar…..Thanks 4 GHSP…..THANKS 4 giving us MAANEET (MAAN-GEET). THANKS 4 portrayng GURMEET-DRASHTI in their BEST CHARACTER.But sad as bcoz GHSP came to an end….we understand dat every story or serial will be end oneday….but 4 GHSP it wasnt the right time…..how drastically it was ended??? We cudnt know anything bout Sameera, Maan's younger brother, then wat happend to Vikram, & last but not the least we wished to see the journey of Maan-Geet from husband-wife to parentage…….how cud all be seen in 7 months leap or 9 months leap????? plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Nissar bring them back & complete the story for us…….MISSING GHSP & all attached to it Badly specially MAAN-GEET-ADI SIR-DADIMA-LUCKY-PINKY………….BRING BACK GURMEET-DRASHTI AS MAAN-GEET.

     
  18. Rida Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 3:32 am

    Sara bhai ko FB se sirf aik hi shikayat hai k yahan tu bhi hai 🙂

     
  19. kathyayanib

    December 19, 2011 at 4:23 am

    Thank so much nissar for giving us such a lovely and diffent shows.aur hami ummid hi ki ap naya sali jaroor vapas ayingi apni geet team ki sath .pls come back soon.

     
  20. sanju

    December 19, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Thanks a lot for giving us DMG…

     
  21. Sarah

    December 19, 2011 at 10:35 am

    🙂

     
  22. Sara

    December 19, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    don't project ridz! *punch*

     
  23. Nargis

    December 19, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Does Nisar really talk and write like a teenager? It surprises me that a such an accomplished director would write and say such things in such a trivial and challenged way?

     
  24. Sara

    December 19, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    What surprises me is that you think someone's heartfelt words are trivial and perhaps it is you who is challenged therefore unable to appreciate the sentiment behind the simply expressed words. A matter of perspective I'm sure :o)

     
  25. Sara

    December 19, 2011 at 5:09 pm

    something we learned as teens, also very simple but oh so useful.. if you have nothing good to say, say nothing at all :o) a lesson taught to kids, but never too late for anyone to learn… part of the accomplishment curve.. :o)

     
  26. Lubna Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    there is also a certain errm……. way of thinking sara that if someone doesnt use words that require even themselves to google the definition then its in some way errm trivial. A form of pseudo intellectual snobbery i guess.

     
  27. ..

    December 19, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Thanks for DMG and thanks for KAJEN

     
  28. Lubna Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 5:41 pm

    oh and as for u two………. sara n ridz……. we'all know what he actually found on fb n u guys dont figure in it at all 😀

     
  29. Langaski Dhami Choudary

    December 19, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    very well said Nargis.
    what will a person who see's meanings and symbolizes inanimate pots, potties and lavatories and links it to the story understand what it means to share an account of their journey in the industry!but ofcourse, oxford would ban you from the face of this earth for not putting it to good use.do you even know what teenagers today talk and write?if you have nothing good to add dont come and say nasty things.its very clear you couldnt stop yourself from commenting and wanted to be the odd one out to get attention.well pat ur back, you have got your share of the attention.i am apalled to think a person like you whose posts i used to come and sometime read on the forums can be so childish that too at an age like this.why do you watch Nissar shows if you think he is childish.now will you stop watching because you think he is a teenager?double standards, sour graces and hipocrisy !I am shocking.

     
  30. Sara

    December 19, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    😀 *approaches langaski cautiously, plants a kiss on cheek and legs it*

     
  31. Rida Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    The only mentaly challenged person on this post is the one who cant understand the feelings. His work speaks for him, he does not need to show off his brilliance everywhere. He was sharing his feelings with his friends n ppl who love him n his work not giving a lecture on direction, so stop opening ur mouth n telling the world that thr is nothing between ur ears it will be good for urself 🙂

     
  32. Langaski Dhami Choudary

    December 19, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    Lango is humbled Sara.You r hilaious at all times.love ur attitude.*sends warm bunny hugs backy*

     
  33. Lubna Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    😀

    *strolls back in humming hey soul sister, rereads, gives Langaski a quik hug n runs for it*

     
  34. Langaski Dhami Choudary

    December 19, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    Hugging time all ova.Lubna Hugs to u 2 Soul Sister!

     
  35. Sara

    December 19, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    lango knows me????? :-O who be u oh master of disguise?? O_O

     
  36. Langaski Dhami Choudary

    December 19, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Lango knows Sara.Come to think of it who doesnt.Im an old timer on the good ol GEET page.Those were fun times.My husband and kid keep me away.But a few good memories refreshed here with known names brings me back in here.

     
  37. Sara

    December 19, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    ooooooooo lango wot ws ur name, come come tell all! ;o)

     
  38. Rida Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    Sara The Celeb, every1 knows u 🙂

     
  39. Lubna Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    yeah shes a regular errm………. london lipton sarakins?? 😀
    langos name musta been 'sane and sensible' hence the departure from pagalkhana 😀

     
  40. Sara

    December 19, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    u cows!!!!!!!!!!! *punches ridz and lubna into next sunday*

     
  41. Langaski Dhami Choudary

    December 19, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Sara, Rida and Lubna-you are the fun bunch.I wish my kid grows up to be a bundle of joy like you.May lord bless you my kids.People call me Lara,you are free to do so as well.

     
  42. Lubna Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    aawww thank you lara…… thats one of the nicest things anyone has ever said to me….. online or off.
    <3

     
  43. Langaski Dhami Choudary

    December 19, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Awww Lubna,hugs back!its late now,take care.

     
  44. Rida Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

     
  45. Lubna Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    yeah true ridz………. kicking ur b*tt always cheers us up and we do it all the time 😀

     
  46. Vodkatiny

    December 19, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Sweet words by a talented youth.Nissar Parvez we hear from you at last!

     
  47. Rida Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    chal hatt lubz,
    Honestly Lara, as lubz said, its the nicest thing Iv ever heard about me, once again thank u sooo much ❤

     
  48. Jane

    December 19, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    *peers in, looks like the Raging Rabbit patrol have it all under control*

    ;)))

     
  49. Lubna Khan

    December 19, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    raging??!! me??!! i didnt do nuthin……. im the happy bunny specially since sara gave me these here…… *shows jane her stash of joints* …….. want one janey??
    😀

     
  50. Jane

    December 19, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    This post has been removed by the author.

     
  51. Jane

    December 19, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    LOL!! *Jane peers at Lubna's joints* Thanks darling but I dont eat meat. (wot a terrible joke I know… I know but you have to forgive me I had no Maanfix today) ;(

     
  52. Sara

    December 19, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    :-O *sits stunned for a while then calls a doc for Lara* crazy lady over heyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!! 😛

    ditto ridz n lubz that really is an amazingly sweet thing to say, how lovely :o) for ur sake tho i hope God aint listening too hard 😀

     
  53. Dhwani Trivedi

    December 19, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    dear Mr. Parvez, what heartfelt words and an amazing treat. Thank you for taking us down the memory lane. A wonderful memoir indeed. Can't wait to see you shining even brighter some day really soon.

    Rida, Sara, Lubna… you girls are total riots. Keep it up. Don't let your craziness fade ever 🙂 You gals have the powers the brighten up even the dullest soul's day.

    and a special shout out for Langasky!!! May your husband and kid free you enough so we see more of you around here Lara!!!

    Cheers and Mahi mahi to all!!!

     
  54. Sarah

    December 20, 2011 at 3:09 am

    “All I really need to know I learnt in my Kindergarten” sigh! Gosh!

     
  55. Sarah

    December 20, 2011 at 3:13 am

    …and for all else hit google (forgot to add)

     
  56. Sarah

    December 20, 2011 at 8:57 am

    Er…I am not good at this…so bear with my senile old juvenile ramblings…sir/maestro, may I simply say, your work is a treat and just waiting to see you wield the baton once again.

    Thanks for a heart touching diary entry that you've made us privy to and hope that your star shines bright.

    Er…my apologies for the trivialities.

    Thank you.

     
  57. Sara

    December 20, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    *reads dhwani's comment, does a double take reads again, slowly keels over, comes to and looks around suspiciously* is this run a hoax on sara, ridz n lubna week? *snaps out her hidden cam detector gadget* was a bargain on ebay! *toothy grin*

     
  58. Lubna Khan

    December 20, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    * starts collecting pillows to hide under in case chicken licken is right n the sky is falling* 😀

     
  59. Sara

    December 20, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    you hear that world!! I HAVE THE POWER TO BRIGHTEN UP EVEN THE DULLEST SOUL'S DAY!!! *looks around smugly* errr hello….? *dustball rolls past* helloooo….? *echoes*

     
  60. Langaski Dhami Choudary

    December 20, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Hello Girls,

    How are all of you today?I had to rush last night as my baby suddenly woke up.
    I see some fun discussion taking shape here.
    So what do you girls do otherwise?

     
  61. Lubna Khan

    December 20, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    hey lara…….. next time hand the baby over to the daddy 😀
    we all work/study/do nuthin…….. and in our spare time kick ridzs b*tt 😀

     
  62. Langaski Dhami Choudary

    December 20, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    Ah Ha! My Hubby, would go crazy, this one goes to daddy only when she wants to sleep, when she wakes up she wants mumma !!!!
    Ridz, what a lovely name, can I call you that too?

     
  63. Bui James

    December 20, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    Thank you Rangmunch for giving us this article on Nissar. This Trio will always succeed because whatever they do is from their hearts. They give it 200% in it. Jaha tak Nissar Parvezji ki baat hai, woh bahot talented director hai. He knows how to create a Magic. hum hindi mai kahte hai “Lambi race ka Ghoda” wahi title mai unko dena chhaugi. Very creative, Talented and above all he knows how to take a risk. Life mai jisne himmat dikhadi risk lete huay woh peeche mudh kar nahi dekhte.

    Hoping you bring back another magical pair soon. We will cherish MaanGeet forever. Thank you so much for giving us GHSP. Aaapki mehnaat aur rang laye, khub success mile, yahi dua karte hai. Lov you Nissar.

     
  64. Rida Khan

    December 21, 2011 at 6:56 am

    Oh yeah, sure Lara, u can call me Ridz 😀

     

Leave a Reply

 
