RSS

Fan Speak: My Final HOO HAA to GEET – GurMaan MonAmour!

24 Dec



Well, how else would I start my post to GEET, but, HOO HAA GEET!!


When I had first seen a clip of GEET, it was of Maan’s entry in the mela at Mukeria where Geet is left behind mistakenly and my first thought was – this guy must be a goondaa, little knowing that this goondaraaj was going to rule my heart and mind in the coming months and year, blotting out all else.

GEET came to me at a time when I had been lonely, living in a country where I was still not anchored after 11 years, here was a series reeling me in, taking away my loneliness and merging me with a group that wanted nothing more than to ooh and aah together at the pair that was Maan and Geet. It was a first time that I had liked both the lead characters, albeit one a wee bit more than the other (wink!).

Each day I came with renewed anticipation I had not felt in a long while, making me wait for 11:30 am to arrive (the time it aired where I was), making me hurry up each day, trying to get things done so that there was no disturbance while I watched my favourite couple play tug-of-war with their emotions, playing games to hide their true feelings or just plain get on each other’s nerves. It was a treat to watch the play of emotions and then came along, “Kehna hi kya”. For me, that was the day that I was compelled to write, to pen down what I felt I could see. 

It started me on a road where I began hesitantly, but each episode brought out more of the writer that was hidden within and I would sit glued to my screen waiting to hear what Maan would say in his silence.

GEET brought me friends from all across the globe, people whom I would have never have met otherwise, people of different ages, races, religious beliefs and professional backgrounds who all became one as viewers who would curse Brij and Nayantara collectively, drool over Maan’s tender looks, get pumped up with his awesome “khunnas and laugh at Geet’s constant pleas to Babaji(who I later learned was the spot boy in the rafters) or go awww at the relation of Maan and the ever so loyal, sweet Adi.

Although the initial craze had dimmed for me, just like the embers that remain long after the fire has died down, so does the attachment with GEET remain and will be there always- for, GEET not only gave me friends who will be there even when GEET no longer is, it also gave me back something of myself.

Like they say “yaad oosay kiya jaata hai, jisay bhool gaye hon – jo dil mein rehtay ho oonhay yaad karnay ki kya zaroorat”, so will it be for me where you are concerned GEET and this is my final HOO HAA to you!!


GurMaan MonAmour!

 

3 responses to “Fan Speak: My Final HOO HAA to GEET – GurMaan MonAmour!

  1. Alima Kanumilli

    December 25, 2011 at 1:54 am

    Gurmaan babes…..Final Hoo Haa..ka kya kamaal hai!!!!!!!!! Loved it!

     
  2. Mano

    December 25, 2011 at 3:32 am

    Awesome words GM ! My thoughts are exactly the same about making friends from all over the globe!

     
  3. Maanki Gopi Madhu

    December 30, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    Gur … DD said the Spot boy was CUTE 😉 … Well written .. Eternally thankful to GHSP and GURTI / MAANEET, for introducing me to soooo many looney's like MYSELF 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
